clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Colorado Rapids’ Kellyn Acosta, Jonathan Lewis, and Sam Vines make USMNT roster ahead of upcoming friendly

The trio are part of the 25-man preliminary roster to take on Trinidad and Tobago on January 31.

El Salvador v United States Photo by Michael Reaves/Getty Images

Gregg Berhalter named his preliminary 25-player roster for his senior team’s friendly against Trinidad and Tobago and that list includes three players from the Colorado Rapid: Kellyn Acosta, Jonathan Lewis, and Sam Vines. All three have been participating in the January USMNT evaluation camp.

The team will relocate northeast and continue training in Orlando. The players have been together since January 9 at the IMG Academy, Bradenton, Florida.

Berhalter selected the roster from an initial list of 12 senior team players and 26 U-23 players.

Prior to the announcement, Berhalter said, “These last two weeks have been an absolute pleasure. The hard work and determination demonstrated by the entire group confirms that the player pool is headed in the right direction.”

“As we transition to Orlando, we switch gears and focus on competing as we prepare to face Trinidad and Tobago,” he continued.

The U.S. Men’s National Teams—both senior and U-23s—face a challenging schedule over the next few months. It starts with the U-23 Concacaf Regional Olympic qualifiers in March, followed by the Concacaf Nations League Final Four in June, the Gold Cup from July 2–August 1, plus the kick-off of the 2022 World Cup Qualifiers. Friendlies are expected to be interspersed between these sanctioned events.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Matt Freese (Philadelphia Union; 0/0), JT Marcinkowski (San Jose Earthquakes; 0/0), Matt Turner (New England Revolution; 0/0)

DEFENDERS (9): Julian Araujo (LA Galaxy; 1/0), George Bello (Atlanta United FC; 0/0), Kyle Duncan (New York Red Bulls; 1/0), Aaron Herrera (Real Salt Lake; 0/0), Aaron Long (New York Red Bulls; 18/3), Mauricio Pineda (Chicago Fire FC; 0/0), Miles Robinson (Atlanta United FC; 2/0), Sam Vines (Colorado Rapids; 2/0), Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC; 13/2)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Kellyn Acosta (Colorado Rapids; 24/2), Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy; 17/4), Benji Michel (Orlando City SC; 0/0), Andrés Perea (Orlando City SC; 0/0), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC; 19/0), Tanner Tessmann (FC Dallas; 0/0), Jackson Yueill (San Jose Earthquakes; 8/0)

FORWARDS (6): Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC/CAN; 115/42), Paul Arriola (D.C. United; 34/6), Daryl Dike (Orlando City SC; 0/0), Jesús Ferreira (FC Dallas; 1/0), Jonathan Lewis (Colorado Rapids; 6/0), Chris Mueller (Orlando City SC; 1/2)