clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kellyn Acosta & Keegan Rosenberry called up for January USMNT camp

We’ve got two Rapids contending for a spot on the USMNT.

Peru v United States

New U.S. Men’s National Team Head Coach Gregg Berhalter has named his very first January camp roster. The list includes 27 players total—all from MLS—including Kellyn Acosta and the newest Colorado Rapids player, Keegan Rosenberry.

Berhalter said that in “putting together this domestic-based roster, we started with a number of players who we think can be a core part of the group moving forward. We then looked at players that excelled this year in Major League Soccer, and finally chose players that can play a specific role in our game model. We are very excited to start to implement our ideas about the style of play and the culture we want to develop in the national team.”

Rosenberry was called up to January camp in 2017, but has yet to earn his first cap with the senior national team. Acosta has tallied 23 caps and two goals for the USMNT since 2016. All in all, the roster averages 24 years, 230 days and 10 caps, with veteran Michael Bradley leading the way with 142 caps. Gyasi Zardes is next with 40, and then Acosta is the third most experienced national team player.

The camp will be held in Chula Vista, California, and starts on January 6th. The USMNT will play Panama on January 27th at 6 p.m. in Glendale, Arizona (broadcast on ESPN2 and Univision), followed by a match against Costa Rica on February 2nd at 1:30 p.m. in San Jose, California (broadcast on FOX and Univision).

Here’s the entire roster:

US Roster (Club; Caps/Goals):

GOALKEEPERS (4): Alex Bono (Toronto FC/CAN; 1/0), Sean Johnson (New York City FC; 5/0), Tyler Miller (LAFC; 0/0), Zack Steffen (Columbus Crew SC; 6/0)

DEFENDERS (10): Reggie Cannon (FC Dallas; 2/0), Greg Garza (FC Cincinnati; 10/0), Justen Glad (Real Salt Lake; 0/0), Nick Lima (San Jose Earthquakes; 0/0), Aaron Long (New York Red Bulls; 2/0), Daniel Lovitz (Montreal Impact/CAN; 0/0),

Mark McKenzie (Philadelphia Union; 0/0), Keegan Rosenberry (Colorado Rapids; 0/0), Auston Trusty (Philadelphia Union; 0/0), Walker Zimmerman (LAFC; 4/1)

MIDFIELDERS (10): Kellyn Acosta (Colorado Rapids; 23/2), Paul Arriola (D.C. United; 17/2), Corey Baird (Real Salt Lake; 0/0), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC/CAN; 142/17), Russell Canouse (D.C. United; 0/0), Marky Delgado (Toronto FC/CAN; 6/0), Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy; 5/1), Djordje Mihailovic (Chicago Fire; 0/0), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC; 5/0), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC; 11/0)

FORWARDS (3): Jeremy Ebobisse (Portland Timbers; 0/0), Christian Ramirez (LAFC; 0/0), Gyasi Zardes (Columbus Crew SC; 40/6)