clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MLS Waiver Draft: Luis Zapata, Edu Eligible

Luis Zapata and Edu are the only two players from the Rapids, following the big cuts that the team made, who will be available in the MLS Waiver Draft on Monday.

Jeff Vinnick

On Monday, the MLS Waiver Draft will likely distribute one or two players around MLS after teams make their post-season releases. The Rapids made a big old batch of cuts the other day, but only two players will be available in the draft due to the rules that differentiate the Waiver Draft with the Re-Entry draft that will come on December 6th. The two players available will be Colombian international Luis Zapata and that one Brazilian guy who we don't speak of.

Quite frankly, I can't see either of them being taken since they'll both take up an international slot, both are over 30 years old and neither of them are particularly world-beating players.

The Rapids have the sixth overall pick in the draft and depending on who is available, the Rapids just might pick someone up. Who knows, though?

Here's the complete player list available, as provided by

Goalkeepers (3): ,Bryan Sylvestre (Vancouver), Jeremy Vuolo (NY Red Bulls)

Defenders (11): Jonathan Borrajo (NY Red Bulls), Cyprian Hedrick (Sporting KC), Ian Hogg (Portland). Flo Lechner (New England), Alex Lee (FC Dallas), Porfirio Lopez (Philadelphia), Neven Markovic (Sporting KC), Carlos Rodriguez (FC Dallas), Tyler Ruthven (NY Red Bulls), Nemanja Vukovic (Columbus Crew), Dicoy Williams (Toronto FC), Luis Zapata (Colorado Rapids)

Midfielders (14): Freddie Braun (Portland), Julio Cesar (Sporting KC), Oscar Cordon (Toronto FC), Edu (Colorado Rapids), Gabriel Gomez (Philadelphia), Cole Grossman (Columbus Crew), Evan James (Montreal Impact), Bryan Leyva (FC Dallas), Nico Muniz (Real Salt Lake), Alec Purdie (New England), Jan Gunnar Solli (NY Red Bulls), Teemu Tainio (NY Red Bulls), Tiago Ulisses (Vancouver), Konrad Warzycha (Sporting KC)

Forwards (14): Jose Angulo (NY Red Bulls), Jhonny Arteaga (NY Red Bulls), Etienne Barbara (Vancouver), Blake Brettschneider (New England), Sercan Guvenisic (San Jose), Corey Hertzog (NY Red Bulls), Matias Jara (FC Dallas), Nicholas Lindsay (Toronto FC), Ruben Luna (FC Dallas), Keith Makabuya (Toronto FC), Charles Renken (Portland), Michael Roach (New England), Olman Vargas (Columbus Crew), Krystian Witkowski (Philadelphia)