clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Minnesota Stars Take Down Tampa Bay Rowdies 2-0 In First Leg Of Championship, Eddie Ababio Doesn't Play

It looks likely that the Minnesota Stars will be taking home their second straight NASL Title following a 2-0 win over the Tampa Bay Rowdies on Saturday evening in the first leg of the 2012 Soccer Bowl.

Amani Walker and Martín Núñez scored the two goals for the Stars, with the second goal coming right as the final minute began to tick down of stoppage time. Having that big 2-0 lead instead of the 1-0 will give the Stars a huge advantage even as they have go to on the road to Tampa Bay for the second leg.

Former Rapids defender/midfielder Eddie Ababio started the game on the bench for Tampa Bay, but wasn't able to make his way onto the field during the loss.

Minnesota has gone to Florida to win titles before, their NASL championship from 2011 was won over the Fort Lauderdale Strikers. The second and final leg of the title run will take place at Al Lang Stadium on Oct. 27.